Posted October 26, 2011

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that affects an estimated 6 million people in the United States and Europe. It damages the lining of the small intestine which interferes with the absorption of nutrients from food. Here are some questions I received from readers on this topic:

Q: I read your notes in the Houston Celiac newsletter. I notice that you did not list oats as an issue like wheat, barley and rye. You mention oats only as a problem if cross contaminated with wheat. Is this correct? I thought oats contained gluten.

A: Officially, pure oats do not contain gluten – the protein found in wheat, rye and barley that sets off intestinal damage in people with celiac disease.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This